Tuesday, June 2, 2020

eARC Book review: Dream Maker (Dream Team #1) by Kristen Ashley

52189666. sy475

Available now
eARC Provided by publisher through Netgalley

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Dream Man and Rock Chick series comes a brand new story about love, friendship, and the bonds of sisterhood.

Evie is a bonafide nerd and a hyper-intelligent chick who has worked her whole life to get what she wants. Growing up, she had no support from her family and has only ever been able to rely on herself. So when Evie decides she wants to earn her engineering degree, she realizes she needs to take an alternative path to get there. She takes a job dancing at Smithie's club thinking this would be a quick side gig, where she can make the money she needs. But with her lack of dancing skills and an alpha bad boy who becomes overly protective, Evie realizes this might not be as easy as she thought.

Daniel "Mag" Magnusson knows a thing or two about pain, but the mask he wears is excellent. No one can tell that this good-looking, quick-witted, and roguish guy has deep-seated issues. Mag puts on a funny-guy routine so he can hide his broken heart and PTSD. But when Evie dances her way into Mag's life, he realizes that he needs to come face-to-face with the demons of his past if he wants a future with her.

First is a brand new  spin off series including characters from the Dream Man and Rock chick series. You  don't have to read those series to read this book but it wouldn't hurt and they are both great series.  Daniel Magnusson is Mag to pretty much everyone but when he meets Even aka Evie she can't seem to go with the flow and calls him Danny. He keeps trying to correct her but after a while he decides he likes her calling him that. He used to be a Danny but his life in the military eventually made him just Mag. Evie is this wonderful nerdy smart sexy chick. Most of her family has been questionable in their support of her and when her brother drags her into some of his not so good shenanigans Danny is there to help. Truths get told and Evie finds out she has a new family some blood family and others who make her family. This book is a mix of the Rock Chick/Dream Man series in how the story flows. I listened to this is audiobook form the same time i read it and i love my audiobooks but this felt much better in ebook form to me.  A good read for me from start to finish. Looking forward to the next book in the series. 

Find out more about Kristen Ashley  and this series here www.kristenashley.net

No comments:

Post a Comment